Skip to content

Sicilian Sausage Soup

October 3, 2010

Posted by: Ali

Since I am now 7 weeks pregnant it has been increasingly difficult to find something that agrees with baby and my stomach without causing heart burn or nausea.  Needless to say a lot of my meals have been followed by a good dose of raspberry ginger ale, tums and possibly the shining white porcelain bowl that is my new best friend.

I’ve been craving soup for a couple of weeks now and it was only today that I was able to muster the energy (after a 4 hour nap I must add)  to find one of my old recipes and attempt to cook.

This is a recipe both my brother and I first started cooking on, passed down to us by our amazing chef of a stepmother.  It’s fairly simple and it’s delightfully tasty!

  • 1 c. chopped onion
  • 1 lg. clove garlic, chopped
  • 1  can crushed tomatoes
  • 4 c. chicken broth
  • 1 c. uncooked orzo pasta
  • Rosemary, Thyme, Parsley and Basil to taste
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper or to taste
  • 1 tbsp. salt or to taste
Remove sausage from casing, fry lightly until meat loses pink color.  I prefer to just cut up the sausage instead of removing it from the casing.  It’s easier and I find it tastier!
Add onion, garlic, fry lightly together. Add remaining ingredients except orzo. Simmer 3/4 to 1 hour. Add pasta, stir occasionally. Let simmer until pasta has expanded and is soft.
No comments yet

Leave a comment