Skip to content

Organic Mushroom Meat Muffins – Does it sound dirty to you?

July 14, 2010

Growing up I watched my mother try to scrape two cents together in order to make our small family a decent meal.  She was a great cook, but her meals were simple and she certainly had no time to teach me anything different.

I’ve been cooking for my husband for over 4 years now and thankfully his pallet is not very sophisticated and he enjoys the cheesy carb overloaded casseroles, the gravy laden roasts and the 20 different ways I can whip up a potato!

However, and there is always a however, I was just not satisfied with what we were eating.  I started out experimenting…and throwing out quite a few dishes!  Let me just tell you right now that Peas, Spaghetti and Soy sauce do not make a very good meal.

In the past couple of months I have begun switching over to Organic meats, fruits and vegetables whenever I can. I am not 100% organic as it can be difficult on a tight budget, and let’s be real here…I don’t see an organic section in my local Wendys…do you?  I’m not going to preach my views on why I started moving towards locally grown foods and organic meats…but I will tell you that I have had nothing but amazing experiences!  I love going to the local farmer’s market to pick out my fresh vegetables and fruits.  They smell and taste wonderful and my body loves me for it!

So on to this weeks Organic Recipe!  I modified this recipe from my Dad’s meatloaf and added a few ingredients of my own.  It’s simple and yummy and can easily used with organic or non-organic ingredients.

Meat Muffins:

1 -2 packages of organic ground veal (I use veal because it is lean but still tender. Any ground meat will work, though I suggest mixing at least half lean or extra lean to prevent too much grease.)

1/2 tbsp of fresh or jarred organic garlic

1 tbsp of your favorite organic vegetable baby food (Yep, baby food! It’s cheap enough to buy in the jars and adds a great flavor.  If you are lazy like myself, you will love the convenience of it, instead of chopping your own vegetables.)

2 tsp Worschestire sauce (I use regular…I’m not sure if this available organic or not. )

1 organic egg

1/4 cup ketchup (Again I use the regular ketchup. I am sure you can find organic ketchup out there, but I am also sure it costs about 2 billion dollars. You can easily make your own tomato sauce though.)

1/2 cup of cracker or bread crumbs

Mush this mess all together.  You can use your hands or a spoon…whatever makes you happy.

Grease one muffin tin and scoop the meat evenly into all the cups.  Put into the oven at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes or until cooked through.

While you are waiting for the meat to cook you can start on the sauce.  It is so easy I want to cry!

1 can of organic cream of mushroom soup

1 tbsp onion powder

1 small pinch of cinnamon (I love using cinnamon in things, but when I say a small pinch I mean it.  You don’t want your food to taste like a donut.)

Mix the above ingredients together and put aside until the meat is almost done.  Like you would a meatloaf, pour the sauce over the meat and slide back into the oven until it browns slightly on the top.  You’re done!

Organic Caesar Salad:

1 head of organic or locally grown romain lettuce

2-3 tbsp of organic or homemade mayonnaise

Garlic to taste

Pickle juice

1 stp Lemon Juice

2 tsp Mustard

Combine the above ingredients, adding the pickle juice slowly and just enough to make the dressing less thick.  The dressing should not taste pickley at all.  Toss everything together and add anything else you like…cheese, croutons…you name it!

This meal is easy and yummy! Sometimes the meat can turn out a bit dry so don’t over cook it and add as much liquidy stuff to the mix to keep it moist!

As you can see I don’t completely follow all the organic rules but I try my best when I can. It helps a lot by just changing one or two things in your diet!

~Posted By Ali~

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2010 3:02 am

    Ali, in America, Wendy’s is fast food chain. I’m assuming it’s a grocery store there? Because I was like “What, huh, why would she have an organic section in a fast foo…. ooooh right, Canada…”

  2. Jenny permalink
    July 15, 2010 3:31 am

    “You don’t want your food to taste like a donut.”

    Maybe I do, Ali. Maybe I do.

    Looks good!

  3. Allahcat permalink
    July 15, 2010 7:10 pm

    Nope I was totally talking about the Fast Food Chain d00d. I don’t eat 100% organic because Fast food generally doesn’t offer an organic option. =)

  4. Julianna permalink
    July 15, 2010 10:20 pm

    lol, Ali..

    Okay I get it now. I was like “Psh, all our American grocery stores have organic sections.” It does look good though. I want to try all your recipes but then I’m like “Well I can’t blog about a recipe that’s already on my blog, BAH!”

Leave a Reply

