Skip to content

Meatloaf – A name straight to the point!

July 12, 2010

Ah meatloaf. Straight and to the point, it’s a loaf… of meat, brilliant! It has been my experience that most people I have come across have very strong reactions to meatloaf. They either love it, or the very name absolutely disgusts them in a way that causes their faces to twist up and pucker in response. Personally, I used to be the latter. There was just something very school-cafeteria-mystery-meat about the way I saw meatloaf. That changed when I was about twelve and spending some time at a friend of mine’s house. Her mother offered homemade meat loaf for lunch and I was so incredibly famished, I accepted. I realized that it was not just a hunk of red meat thrown in a pan and baked in the oven, but a fairly intricate recipe involving several ingredients. So, without further ado, my meatloaf…

Ingredients:
2 eggs
3/4 cup milk
2/3 cup fine dry breadcrumbs (I used Progresso brand ‘Plain’ breadcrumbs)
1/4 cup finely chopped onion
2 tablespoons snipped fresh parsley (I’m not going to lie, I didn’t use fresh)
1 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon dried leaf sage, basil, or oregano crushed (I used oregano)
1 1/2 lbs. of ground beef
1/4 cup ketchup
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 teaspoon dry mustard (I used Coleman brand)

In a bowl beat your eggs with a whisk, add the 3/4 cup milk and stir them together. When they are combined, stir in the bread crumbs, onion, parsley, salt, oregano (or whichever you chose to use in it’s place) and pepper. Now you stir all that up. Then you add the ground beef. I usually like to mix it with my hands, but when I prepared this it was still a little frozen. After about ten seconds of mixing, my hands were stinging from frostbite, so I finished the rest up with a wooden spoon.

Plop (because that is the best description I can think for what you do with it) the meat in a 8x4x2 inch loaf pan. Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 1 to 1 1/4 hours. I cooked mine for 1 1/4. The internal temp needs to register 160 degrees if you have a meat thermometer, which I didn’t at the time.

Meanwhile, you can prepare your glaze which is as simple as combining the ketchup, brown sugar, and dry mustard in a small mixing bowl and stirring until everything is smooth. When you meatloaf is done, pull it out and brush the glaze over the top. Stick the meatloaf back in the oven and bake it for another ten minutes to let the glaze get all… glazey? Let it cool for about ten minutes and enjoy!

Personally, I didn’t feel there was enough ketchup brown sugar glaze. I mean, it’s a delicious loaf of meat, but I could have done with more glaze. Next time I try this, I may attempt to back a little side thing of glaze in a ramekin just to have extra.

~Post by Julianna, Recipe taken from Better Homes and Gardens Cook Book

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie permalink
    July 12, 2010 7:49 pm

    Looks awesome! You are such a great cook! Keep it up!

  2. AllahCat permalink
    July 12, 2010 8:06 pm

    I totally want to try cooking meatloaf now! I will have to rename it though, because my husband literally turns green at the thought of it. (I blame his mother’s cooking…but then again I blame anything wrong with him on his mother…hah)

  3. Jim permalink
    July 12, 2010 10:59 pm

    Try a mix of pork,veal and beef next time. You can sometimes find it already in the meat case ready to use.

  4. July 16, 2010 8:16 pm

    Ew, that sounds gross Dad. I’ll stick to my organic 100% beef!

Leave a Reply

