Skip to content

Boston Black Coffee Bread: Caffeine in a Carb-Cocoon

July 12, 2010

Posted by:  Jenny


An added complication to my learning to cook is the fact that I’m a rather picky eater.  I will eat vegetables only if they’re diced small and hidden in a casserole, or if they’re salad greens coated with ranch dressing.  In other words, once the taste and nutritional value have been effectively smothered, I’ll begrudgingly take a few bites.  This is actually an improvement considering that five years ago, I’d run screaming from the dinner table if any vegetables tainted its surface. ( All kidding aside, I really am trying to propel my taste buds past the eight-year-old stage in which they’ve lingered for seventeen years.  It’s a work in progress.)

Though the green stuff is the most commonly snubbed consumable around my kitchen, I’ve never had a taste for coffee, either.  It takes mounds of sugar to hide its bitterness before I can drink it.  My husband, on the other hand, could survive on nothing but coffee, and the black-sludgier, the better.  I can’t overstate the man’s love for the beverage.   If he had to choose between losing me or never drinking coffee again, I’d be seriously worried.

Though perhaps it only further seals my inevitable loss to the caffeinated mistress, I bake a loaf called Boston Black Coffee Bread in exchange for Good Wife Points, which can be redeemed at my leisure (ie: “Why don’t you want to go out tonight?  I spent all day last week baking bread I don’t eat just because I love you!”).  Andrew says it’s tasty and has requested it multiple times.  You’ll have to trust him because, if you ask me, it sounds disgusting.  Coffee and raisins?  Yeah, no thanks, I’d rather starve.

I guess calling a recipe disgusting before posting it isn’t the most effective way to plug a dish.  Well, just keep in mind that’s what’s disgusting to me is often enjoyable to normal people.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • ½ cup cornmeal
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¾ cup strong coffee (room temperature or cold) (We’ve just been using some Folgers that Andrew wants to get rid of, but he wants to try espresso next time.  Try using different brews for different tastes.  You could probably increase the amount a bit, too.)
  • 1/3 cup honey or molasses (This recipe has no sugar in it.  WTF.)
  • ¼ cup canola oil
  • ¾ cup raisins (Two boxes of the Sunmaid individual servings is about the right amount.)

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Place parchment/wax paper in a 9X4 loaf pan and coat with cooking spray.  This will help you easily remove the bread from the pan.

2) Combine all dry ingredients.  Add coffee, honey, and oil, and stir until you have a thick, grainy batter.  Fold in the raisins.

3) Pour batter into loaf pan.  Bake for 50 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

4) After it cools, remove bread by carefully lifting it using the edges of the parchment paper.  Slowly peel the paper off the bread.

The original recipe recommends eating this bread with cream cheese, but Andrew eats it plain.  If using cream cheese, I’d suggest using the whipped kind and mixing in a bit of cinnamon and brown sugar because the bread isn’t very sweet on its own.  Think he’d notice if I dump a few cups of sugar in next time?  I mean, it could only improve it, right?

Recipe modified from Gifts from the Kitchen (cookbook)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Allahcat permalink
    July 13, 2010 3:25 pm

    This sounds just wrong. Wheat flour? Blech. No Sugar? Blech. Raisins? Blech. I like me some coffee but it has to have sugar in it! Your husband is a strange one and that’s my conclusion. 😉

    • July 13, 2010 4:34 pm

      I guess it’s relatively healthy, at least, but yeah– it’s too grown up for me.

Leave a Reply

