Skip to content

Stuffed Bell Peppers: Easy Weeknight Meal

September 11, 2010

Posted by: Jenny

Mmmm, bell peppers packed with meat and spices and cheese?  I’d never tried stuffed bell peppers before, but my BFF mentioned them on Facebook and it sounded like something that would satisfy my finicky tastebuds.  After all, I add diced red bell pepper to many dishes for a little extra kick.  Hopeful, I set out on an internet hunt for a recipe.

Because of its ease and because of how amazingly delicious it looked in the pictures, I settled on the following recipe from Sing for Your Supper, a completely adorable cooking blog run by Amy, who was kind enough to give me permission to post about her recipe.  I found several recipes on her website that I plan to try, and I definitely recommend checking it out.  I followed Amy’s recipe closely, and her ingredient list and instructions are copied below in bold (click here to visit her original post):

(Amy’s) Mom’s No-Bake Stuffed Peppers

  • 2 medium bell peppers (any color – Amy used yellow, I used red and green)
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon basil
  • 1-15 ounce can tomato sauce
  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 cups rice, cooked
  • 1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese


1) Cut peppers in half lengthwise. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil, drop the peppers in and boil for 5-6 minutes.

2)In a small bowl, mix tomato sauce, basil and sugar and set aside.

3) Brown meat and onion in a large skillet; drain. Stir in 1/2 the tomato sauce, 1/2 cup of the rice and the salt. Cover and simmer for 5 minutes; stir in cheese.

4) Spoon meat mixture into peppers and place into skillet. Pour remaining tomato sauce around peppers; cover and simmer. Top with additional cheese, if desired. Serve on top of remaining rice.

My only change was to add some minced garlic and black pepper to the filling.  The filling was delicious: savory, meaty, melty. The rice makes it very substantial, as well.  I had extra filling, so I wrapped the leftovers  in warm tortillas for lunch the next day.

Of the two peppers, red and green, I found the red to be more flavorful. I do I admit I didn’t like the pepper itself as much as I hoped, but after asking both Amy herself and my husband about it, I think that’s due to my issues with vegetables rather than a cooking error.  I guess I need to stick to chopping peppers up into small pieces.  Andrew enjoyed the whole dish, even though he didn’t come downstairs to dinner when I told him to, and it ended up getting cold, and then he had to microwave it, and I fussed at him about cooking dinner for someone who spends a half-hour on the computer before eating and doesn‘t he appreciate–

Ahem.   Even after all that, he still thought the stuffed peppers were tasty.  This is a great, easy recipe; the quick boiling method makes the peppers turn out soft and tender, and mmm, that filling….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 4:50 pm

    I make a good stuffed pepper too, although with a chicken parmesan filling.
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/17/michaels-stuffed-bell-peppers-with-chicken-parmesan-filling/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

